Signup for free updates

Name :
Email :
Security Code* :

Aqua Foundation's Excellence Awards

The "Aqua Foundation's Excellence Awards" are the highest awards given by Aqua Foundation to its members, stakeholders and contributors in recognition of their outstanding achievements in the field of water, environment, energy, earth sciences, atmospheric sciences, planetary sciences, pollution control and sustainability solutions. Aqua Foundation honours, in each World Aqua Congress, individuals & organizations who have made a mark in their respective fields of expertise or have made a significant contribution in the field of water, environment and humanity.

  • Nomination Process
  • Award Categories
  • Special Awards-2018
  • Evaluation Process
  • Award & Exception

Number of Awards

The number of awards shall be between 0 and 40 every year.


Nomination for the award may be made by stakeholders, serving and retired members, Chairman- Aqua Foundation, and by other reputed individuals working in the field of water & environment. Self-nomination can also be made. Wide publicity shall be given by Aqua Foundation among eligible nominators so as to get good number of nominations. Nominations received after the due date shall be considered for the next year’s award. The details forwarded with nomination must contain the following information:

  • Name, address, e-mail ID, telephones, fax etc.
  • Qualification and Professional experience (in case of individual)
  • Contribution that merit this award [Detailed account]
  • Brief details of projects / services carried by nominee
  • Any other relevant information

Nominations shall be sent to

Praggya Sharmaa (Ms.)
Secretary General,

E-166, 2nd Floor, Kalkaji
New Delhi – 110019
Telefax: +91-11-41318030
Cell: +91-9818568825,

The Secretary General will organize the material received and place them before the Screening Committee for preliminary evaluation.

Award Categories

The award is given for significant achievement in national or international level in one of the following areas, in the field of Water, Environment, Energy, Earth Sciences, Atmospheric Sciences, Planetary Sciences, Pollution Control and Sustainability Solutions.

Kindly select one of the following Categories, you would like to nominate for the awards:

  • Academic Excellence (Individual)
  • Professional Excellence (Individual)
  • Excellence in Resource Management (Institutional/Industrial)
  • Excellence in Development of Technology (Individual/Institutional/Industrial)
  • Outstanding Contribution towards cause of Sustainability - Public Sector
  • Outstanding Contribution towards cause of Sustainability - Private Sector
  • Green Hospitality
  • Green Housing

These special awards are for the companies who have created path breaking trends and who have lead unprecedented innovations that have uplifted the moral of the entire Water industry. These are for those who have worked to create a special service for the independent need of the various sectors of Water fraternity or offered viable solutions for the problems and played a vital role in enhancing Water efficiency.

Kindly select one of the following Categories, you would like to nominate for the awards:

  • Promoting Sustainable Human Settlement Development
  • Sustainable Development in Hydropower Sector
  • Sustainable Development in Thermal Power Sector
  • Sustainable Development in Mining Sector
  • Sustainable Development in Coal Mining Sector
  • Sustainable Development in Oil & Gas Sector
  • Sustainable Development in Construction & infrastructure Sector
  • Sustainable Development in Food and Agriculture
  • Work on Traditional Wisdom
  • Combating Deforestation
  • Promoting Sustainable Agriculture and Rural Development
  • Vertical Framing
  • Protection of the Quality and Supply of Freshwater Resources
  • Environmentally Sound Management of Toxic Chemicals
  • Environmentally Sound Management of Hazardous Wastes
  • Environmentally Sound Management of Solid Wastes and Sewage-Related Issues
  • Safe and Environmentally Sound Management of Radioactive Waste

There is no fixed criterion for measuring excellence. But the Award Committee must be satisfied that the nominee truly belongs to the class of exceptional individuals/ institution who have made a mark in their chosen area of endeavour.

Evaluation Process

Preliminary screening of proposals is made by the Screening Committee consisting of the following members:

  • Secretary General , Aqua Foundation
  • Two Members or nominees of Governing Council of Aqua Foundation

The Committee places its recommendation before the Chairman for approval. On approval of the Chairman, the nominees are informed by the Secretary General and a formal invitation to the Award Function is sent by the Secretary General.

The Award

The award shall be in the form of a plaque with an image of the Aqua Foundation logo and a certificate. The award shall be given at the World Aqua Congress International Conference of the respective year. If, for some reason, the awardee is unable to be present in the Show, he can receive it from the Secretary at any later date.


The Screening Committee will consider all proposals forwarded by the Secretary. It may, at its discretion, add additional names from or outside the original list. The Secretary General , assisted by 2 Members of Governing Council may accelerate the process to present an award in the World Aqua Congress.